Pages

Friday, February 28, 2020

Last Friday in February - Feel Good Style...

February seemed long, didn't it?

For the shortest month of the year, heck!

Tomorrow is Leap Day! I know a couple of people who have birthdays! One will finally be a double-digit midget.

Let's get to the list!

1. Getting trained on a whole bunch of new things at the day job this week and doing it all myself today! I can now do the feet inventory, process checks, and credit cards (I taught myself how to run the credit card machine). I think I might have screwed up a couple of things (I will find out Monday when the real accounts receivable manager comes back), but I think I did pretty well on my first solo run. My boss thought so...

2. Work baby shower! It turned out well. Our Controller is due in about 3 weeks. She's having a boy. She didn't expect a shower from us, but we did it anyway. She turned red and said we sucked, but was so grateful. Good food. She got good gifts including a bucket full of cash.

3. Making our reservations for our Jeep events. We have May and June reserved, including hotels. Though we may change the May hotel to a rental house depending on if my sister-in-law can get off work and if my old work buddy can make it. So much cheaper and closer to rent this house I found! So excited though!

4. Still waiting to get our camper back, but glad the roof seems to be a non-issue!

5. Remember how I told you that the new house owner next door decimated my flower beds in November? On my last day at the old job? Well... he also just put up a fence that spans 1/4 of our yard! This saves us a ton of money. Our plan is to totally fence in the yard. So now 1/4 is done, which is amazing! Someone did move in. We haven't met her yet, but she has the cutest pug. (I saw him through the un-curtained window last night. Curtains are up now.)

6. Watching my boys tomorrow while K1 & J move - one building down and up one floor. I'm glad to not have to lift heavy boxes, but K1 has made me nervous about Baby B's new skills and abilities. Nothing will be safe and I am pretty much on my own. That Man is working the second job all day tomorrow. K3 and K4 are helping with the move. It'll be fine. I will have Mr. B to help me and the house will be baby proofed before I return with them.

7. The rest of the weekend plans. Some involve heavy lifting. Some involved organization. Some involved hilarity. I hope it turns out good.

8. Oh and I get to sleep in just a tiny bit tomorrow!

9. Writing the words! I did relatively decent with the word count this week. Not great, but at least something.

10. Having a relaxing evening with That Man. The kid is gone for the night, so we're chilling and watching "Better Call Saul". We had no dinner because we had so much food at lunch. I thought about ordering a sub, but probably not now.... Ha!

That is all!

Behave!

Friday, February 21, 2020

Feel Good Friday!

Yay for Friday! I am happy to see you, Friday!

Let's get to the list already!

1. One of That Man's oldest friends stopping by work yesterday! It was a spur of the moment thing, but it was good to see him. We were late for where we were supposed to be, but that's okay. We haven't seen him for a super, super long time, though That Man and him text all the time.

2. After dealing with the stabby headache for most of the week, it is finally gone. Though there is still remarkable sinus pressure going on.

3. Our poor Mr. B getting better from the flu. Poor boy was a mess most of the week.

4. Getting to see a good friend tonight. She's had an even rougher week than probably a whole bunch of people. We took her and her dad dinner and got to talk for a bit. She's a sweet person. Her dad's been dealing with some health issues and just when she thought things were getting better, he fell and broke stuff in his foot. We've been there and done that, too, so we wanted to help.

5. Our camper getting a new roof! Hopefully it will be done soon. We dropped it off at our friend who owns a roofing company last week. He wants to branch out into doing camper roofs, so we're his test case. Once we get it back, we will tackle the floor and get the new subfloor down. Then we will paint the cabinets, then put the nice floor down and attach the new toilet. I'm excited! I can't wait to get it camping!

6. That Man and I reserving a little beach house! It kind of happened on a whim. He sent me a picture of us on the beach. I said let's go and the next thing we knew we had reserved a tiny house for a long weekend coming up. I am so freaking excited! This was just what we need to get through the next few long months of constant work and projects!

7. Plans for a day out with my girl tomorrow. She needs her driver's license picture taken and we both need to do some shopping, so we're set for the day. (She and That Man tried to go last Saturday, but they were closed. That Man got his done today.)

8. Despite the stabby headache, I have written every night this week but one. I am making amazing progress and loving the story!

That's all I have right now. I'm beat and my shoulders ache.

Behave!

Monday, February 17, 2020

Moaning Monday...

Eh... It's not so moaning. Except I'm tired and have a stabby sinus headache and I'm cold. Okay, so maybe it is more moaning than I thought. Ha!

Anyway...

The greenhouse event was a lot of fun. Didn't sell any books, but no one else really did either. The crowd was light. Folks that normally come couldn't. It is what it is. That's something that's definitely beyond control. But, like I said, it was fun. Got to talk to my author peeps and meet some authors I didn't know before. Caught up with old friends and bought some super cute gnome napkins.

After the signing, a bunch of us went to dinner. That was fun. A lot of laughter and conversations. That Man and Simon's Man came, too. When we were done with dinner, we weren't ready to go home, so we went to see friends. That was fun. We didn't stay too late, but we did have a good time.

Sunday was a quick run to the store for ingredients. We whipped up some spinach artichoke dip and headed to a different friend's house to watch the Daytona 500. We only get to see them maybe twice a year, so it was definitely a good time. They made meatballs and other dips. We talked and laughed and well.. since the race was rained out, we ended up home sooner than expected. At one point, I'd gone out to the car for something and it looked like the radiator on the car had busted. There was a huge spray of liquid and it was puddling on the ground. I called That Man out, and we quickly discovered that their male cat had sprayed our car. Gross, but definitely good for a laugh.

Now it's Monday again. It was a quiet Monday at the day job. No mail. No bank. Very few phone calls. Very few emails. I had to cover the phones all day, which is fine. I cleaned up some receivers and purchase orders and organized my day for tomorrow - which will be busy since there are checks to write and bank stuff to do...

I'm about ready to crash now. I've already done my words, caught up on my emails, and took care of a few other household administration duties. It's time to find a blanket and rest my stabby head.

Behave!

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Thursday... Pre-Weekend Prep...

This Saturday is the annual greenhouse signing! I love this event so much!

It's just a super fun day with author people, cool greenhouse stuff, good food, and just awesomeness.

My mom loved this event so much. She would come and be with me for it. I made her a special place at my table and was always so grateful for her to be with me. Her friends would come and she would delight in walking around with them and me and meeting everyone. I will always miss that, and I always am aware of it. I miss my momma so much and this event is always a tribute to her in my mind.

So, it you live in my area, think about maybe coming to see me! It starts at noon and goes until three! Heck, it's not going to be winter this winter, so you might as well start thinking about your spring planting. I know I am already! You know... replacing the flower bed that was decimated by the stupid homeowner next door... (I'm still super angry, if you can't tell...)

Anyway...

It's Thursday. This week has been pretty okay. My only complaint is the excessive amount of spam email I am getting. Like 100 spam emails a day. I hate it. So much. We all know that you can't just "unsubscribe" because when you do it automatically subscribes you to five million more spam sites... ugh!

The day job has been pretty good. I've been at the receptionists desk for most of the week until today. I equally love and hate being at the desk. It is what it is. When I'm told the phones are busy, I usually roll my eyes. Yesterday, the phones were the busiest they've been since I started, and, I roll my eyes. That was not busy. It was. But not like I'm used to. Obviously, I'm still adjusting.

Though I was very busy all day today. Busy enough that I didn't get all of the things done! So woohoo! (I do know how ridiculous that is... lol)

We stopped at the store on our way home tonight. That Man is making my favorite dinner tomorrow night. Scallops and pasta. We bought all of the ingredients and grabbed stuff for dinner. Quiche - which was mostly good.

I don't have a lot of love for the traditional Valentine's Day stuff. That's just me! We, also, haven't really ever celebrated Valentine's Day, so this will be a first for us... I might change my opinions...

That's all... The laundry is done. The words, and more words!, have been written. (my story has direction again! WHOOT!)

and that is all...

Behave!!




Sunday, February 09, 2020

Woah! Long Silence!

Sorry about that! It's been kind of crazy around here.

Let's back up...

Last weekend we took a day off work and spent a long weekend at the cabin. It was warm and comfy and we had a really relaxing time. We set our air mattress up in the main area, which was pretty cool. We watched Lord of the Rings, and made some really awesome food. Scallops & Pasta and Shrimp & Grits. I absolutely love scallops, but the shrimp & grits were the most amazing. It was so easy to make, too. I always get it on vacation on our way home, but last time I just couldn't do it because they don't devein their shrimp and that totally grosses me out. But I've been craving it. Amazing.

On our way home, we stopped at our niece's new house to check things out. They bought a really cute place not far from us.

Then back to work. It was a rough work week for some reason. A lot of weird stuff happened. But I got through it and my supervisor said I'm doing a good job, so there's that.

I had my eyes checked for the first time in a over a decade. Not nearly as bad as I thought. I did need glasses - bifocals, which I expected. I had them leave the lines in them so I could better train myself on where to look. They are fine for reading and driving, but not for computer work. Ugh. So now instead of worrying about one pair of glasses, I need to worry about two. And then three when I have sunglasses. I almost wish I would have gotten them tinted so the sunglass factor was out of the picture. But whatever.

Critiqued an awesome story for a friend and got some writing in. Then prepping for the weekend.

Our second attempt to trim our tree in the back was more successful, but still not a complete success. We started early with a light crew, but the rest of the gang showed up and worked their butts off. Both of my boys and both of our "adopted" sons. They are an amazing team. We only got about halfway done though before we lost the light. Rope lowering huge branches through the power lines ate up so much time. And our finish up date is not for another month. Ugh. Once the tree is done, we'll start on the fence back there. K4 crashed into a few weeks ago...It was already broken though. It's semi-leaned up, but looks like crap.

I made white chicken chili, cornbread, and tons of coffee. We fed them breakfast, too, and kept them hydrated. It was a lot of work, but also a really good day. I didn't do a lot of tree work because there were many hands helping, but I had enough to do with the food and coordinating and cleaning up.

We were in bed stupid early last night. Up stupid early this morning. K4 and I did some shopping. The craft store down the road is going out of business so we hit that up. Then the mega store since we both needed socks. They had the kind of sweaters I love on sale for $5, so that happened. Then grocery shopping. We had a good time!

Back home and paid bills, made lunch, watched Toy Story 4, and tried to take a nap. That Man is making dinner. The laundry is done. The house is in decent shape. Back to work tomorrow. Next weekend is the annual greenhouse signing. I'm looking forward to that!

That's all I have!

Behave!

Tuesday, January 28, 2020

Holy Lost Week!

I can't even tell you what went on last week!

I know there was a lot of craziness and a lot of stress. The stress wasn't the day job, writing, or immediate family, so that's a good thing.

We did have our great-niece's first birthday party! She's so stinking cute. Her cake face was awesome! We took the B's. They wore us out and they had a blast.

This week is going fast. I mean it's Tuesday already.

The rest of the week is crazy, so you won't hear from me again until at least Sunday.

Behave!

Monday, January 20, 2020

A New Week...

So the snow was pretty disappointing. We spent the morning talking about how we could have gotten the branches down and mostly taken care of before people needed to go home so they weren't driving in the freezing rain. But... it is what it is. Who knows what would have happened had we proceeded? Maybe something bad? I'm going with that.

We have rescheduled, but there's still always a chance of inclement weather, so we'll just take things as they come. Again, it is what it is... The bonus is the delay of the hit to the checkbook, so there is that... Ha!

Anyway. We did stay in our jammies all day. Watched movies, read, took naps, did laundry, cooked, and generally goofed off. We made chicken cheesesteaks for dinner and went to bed super late. And we didn't go outside other than to take the dog out. It was a good day.

Sunday we made a quick trip to the grocery store because we had a dinner epiphany. Did some more napping, though it was interrupted by this weird smell... We'd smelled it on Saturday, but couldn't pinpoint it. By Sunday, it was so bad we thought we had a break in the furnace. It was a exhaust-type/burning smell. We kept walking around sniffing and finally figured it out. They make these plug in diffusers for cat anxiety. My sister had given me the ones she'd gotten (they turned their one cat into a demon - it happens, rarely, but it does happen) for Fred. Both were super, super hot and the one was leaking the oil into the outlet. One of them was starting to burn the plastic. Holy Fire Hazard!! Yikes!

The sad thing is that I think it actually worked. On Saturday and Sunday morning, all of the cats were in the living room all chill. They were sleeping together and there was no stress. No one is crazy now, so I can't say that it did really work or it didn't. I don't think we had enough time with it to know for sure... So now I don't know what we're going to do. I won't plug them in again because I don't want my house to burn down. (Read some reviews and found that it is a common problem with this brand and of course, there are no other brands that appear to work and not catch on fire.)

Other than that... Today was Monday again. It was a weird day at work because I thought I was only on the phones for the morning and I had planned my day around that, but it turned out to be all day. I screwed up my check run - twice, and have a crap ton of research to do tomorrow on three problems that started before I did. (That part is fine...I like the research)

I got my words done. Took laundry downstairs, but didn't start it. Ha!

And that is all...

Behave!


Friday, January 17, 2020

Feel Good Friday....

Yay for Friday! Right now, with no immediate holidays to look forward to, Fridays are all we have... Ha! It's what we talk about at the office.

We had to reschedule our tree trimming! It was supposed to be tomorrow. We had all of the "crew" on board - brothers, brothers-in-law, kids, adopted kids - they were all going to be here. Some of them are calling us "wussies" for rescheduling, but it's all about their safety. (They are joking, but...) I am not a happy person about this weather. Everything was planned. Food was purchased. My day was scheduled. Ugh. I even bought first aid supplies, just in case. But the Tree Trimmer made the call so we can't feel bad.

Now That Man and I are looking forward to a "jammie day". We have decided that we are staying in our jammies all day and take a literal day off for a change. We will read. I will write. We will do laundry (because we have to, or maybe we won't) and we will cook amazing food. I am definitely looking forward to staying in my super soft jammies all day. And sleeping in.

I am really looking forward to that!

We, unfortunately, had to stop at the store tonight. Mainly because we were so sure about our weekend plans that we stopped last night. So while everyone else was buying bread, milk, and toilet paper, we were buying hamburgers, perogies, beer, and snacks. We went to the store that only the old people go to and got out of there pretty quickly. Still brutal...

I am spot on with my writing goal! I didn't write last night because I felt like utter Hell, but I made up for it tonight, which is awesome. And I have the weekend since I generally don't count weekends in my writing goals.

That is all...

Behave!

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Update on Fred

Fred is still being skittish and standoffish. But he's still hanging out in the common spaces with us, so that's good. He seems to be more mad at That Man than me, though That Man had nothing to do with the trip to the vet, or what happened to him. I'm the one who put him into his cage, drove him to the vet, and left him there.

I haven't gotten him on my lap for more than a few seconds yet, but he is taking his meds. Currently he is sacked on the couch. Thanks to my brother, I was able to get his pain meds into him. He gave me the best way to do it and it worked!

There has been no pee though, which is good. You can tell that the bladder meds really make him feel better. Within twenty minutes, he's himself again. That Man has taken over administering the meds since Fred wasn't being the friendliest to him before staying at the vet. That Man would rather Fred be himself and in my lap. Sweet.

It's Wednesday. Today was a rough day at the day job. Probably my roughest yet. But I got through it and it's good. My immediate coworkers are amazing and so is my boss. I'm still 100% sure I made the right decision. Though, I am still adjusting. I guess when you think about the length of time I worked like a crazy person, it makes sense that it's going to take more than 60 days to work through it all.

I'm sitting at almost 3,500 words for the week so far and it's Wednesday. That's awesome to me. It's been a long time since I've written like this and I love it. I am over halfway to my goal for the month! My brain actually is working again. For the first time in a very long time, I have random story thoughts and ideas throughout my day and during the night and when I wake up. Brain healing?

I had a dream last night that I don't remember much of, but I do remember that my mom was in it. And so was my Suburban. I remember being freaked out about something and then I got into the Suburban with my mom. As soon as I closed the door, everything was good. What does that mean?

That is all!

Behave!

Tuesday, January 14, 2020

Freddie is Home!

He's not a happy kitty, but he's home and I'm glad.

He has an inflamed bladder and severe anxiety. Geesh!

There are so many factors that can cause this. We're still researching and hopefully can figure out how to connect the dots. I mean, he was only three weeks old when we found him.

The vet put him on pain meds because it hurts when the bladder is inflamed. And they have him on a bladder med. We have a few things to try as far as lessening his stress - who knew there's wet food for stress? We're also going to try the cat calming diffuser.

But the ultimate thought is that he's still very young and it's really possible that he'll grow out of it. That's what we're hoping for.

When we got home, we took him to K4's room since we had to go to the grocery store. None of us wanted him to be alone roaming around the house and there was a huge chance he would hide and we wouldn't be able to get his meds into him. K4 got the liquid med into him and then we let him come downstairs. He only took part of his pain meds, but it seems to be enough. He's currently laying on the living room floor all stretched out.

He's with his people and his buddies and that seems to be what he needs.

That's about it... I did my words and some other household administration duties and now I'm ready to close up shop and relax - hopefully with my orange kitty on my lap. We'll see if he's mad at me or not...

Oh! Snow is forecasted for the weekend! While I'm happy about the possibility of snow, I'm not happy about the way it could change our plans. We'll see.

That's all...

Behave!

Monday, January 13, 2020

Monday...

Oy! It's Monday...

The book singing was good! I sold a few. Got to talk to my author and bookseller friends. My sister came. I met some cool people. It was good...

Mr. B came in fourth in the pinewood derby. He's such a good sport. He was supportive of his pack mates and had the right attitude when it came to the end. He's such a good kid. Then, they had a family race. K1 put little Mr. B in to race with one of K1's old pinewood derby cars. (Little Mr. B fell asleep so wasn't a part of any of the thing) The old school bus was K1's entry when he was like 8. He lost horribly this time, but it was a blast. So many jokes and much obnoxiousness! When they found out how old the schoolbus was, one of the leaders brought out his oldest car and they raced. It was awesome. And then they sat at our table and discussed cars and races and scouts. It made me miss our time in scouts.

Sleeping in was marginal this weekend... that's all I have to say about that.

The most important thing today is that my Freddie boy had a vet appointment tonight. He's still at the vet...I am sad. They think he might have a urinary tract infection, which would explain the peeing on everything (occasionally) that is going on. We took him because of the peeing. It's not terrible, but it's not good either. But he peed on K4's coat right in front of me and didn't run away when I caught him. Something is wrong...

And he's at the vet still. I am distraught. I miss my baby. They wanted to give him fluids and get him to pee and check him out. Trust me, the kitty wasn't sick in any way when we went. The boy weighs 15 pounds!! He's only like seven months old!

I don't know what tomorrow will hold yet. They will call me... and I will leave work to pick him up...or whatever they suggest.

I miss my boy though. By now, he is in my lap, purring and wanting love. I feel so bad for him being stuck in a cage at the vet's office...

That is all I have...

Behave!!

Friday, January 10, 2020

Feel Good Friday!

Let's just get to the list!!!

1. Friday! Whoot!

2. K4 taking care of dinner & clean up tonight. No cooking. No cleaning up. Nice!

3. Getting to see Mr. B on his birthday for a few minutes. They are in Cub Scout pinewood derby preparations and stopped by for some advice on the car. I asked Mr. B how he could possibly be seven already and he told me that I hadn't been paying attention. LOL! He's a crack up!

4. Sleeping in tomorrow! Yes! It's been a rough sleeping week. I don't know why.

5. Dinner with "the boys" last night. We had K3 & A, K3's best friend and his partner, M, over. K3's best friend just found his mother deceased. It was super bad. We assisted as "pseudo-parents" at the funeral home since the poor guy has no one with experience around. (He and K3 have been best friends since early high school so he is like our son, too.) He's an only child and has absolutely no close family. So dinner was a way to catch up after the horrific time and make sure he's okay. He's doing well. He's a great guy. M is also a great guy, and we had a really awesome time getting to know him. We approve. I was going to ask K3 to bring a game to play, but as it turns out, we didn't need one. We laughed our butts off just talking about random stuff. 

6. Book Signing tomorrow! I'm excited to go with my new books!

7. I did not write last night, which I had planned for. I did a few words tonight - not as many as I have been doing, but enough to keep me on track. And there's always the chance I'll not sleep again and decided to get some words down...

8. Did I mention sleeping in? K4 is taking the dog tonight, which means I won't have to share my blankets, share my leg space, or fight for air since I'm stuck in the middle. Don't get me wrong, I normally don't mind the dog sleeping with us, but sometimes it's nice to have a break.

9. Going to see Mr. B's  Pinewood Derby race on Sunday and giving him his presents. That Man is super excited to go to a derby race. It's been a long time. We've done countless derby races - served food, made french fries, carved out cars, painted cars, did last minute weights on cars, baked cookies and pies, organized, cleaned up, gone to the next level with some pretty cool cars. In fact, Mr. B took home several of his dad's old pinewood derby cars for inspiration. It will be interesting to see what has changed.

10. Also Sunday... Oh wait... Laundry... nevermind...ha!

That is all!

Behave!

Wednesday, January 08, 2020

Mid-Week Mayhem...

Okay, so there's no mayhem. I made that part up... Ha!

It's, so far, been a pretty quiet week around here.

We did have some most beautiful snow yesterday. It's still pretty, but now it's freaking cold and blustery. Which is fine. I mean, it's winter, it's supposed to be cold. And with snow on the ground, I don't mind it so much. Well... I do mind the cold wind. That's pretty much bullcrap.

The day job is good. Still learning new stuff. Obviously that's going to be the case for a while. Went to the dentist for a cleaning for the first time in a long time, which was good. Not as bad as I expected, at all. I also made an eye doctor appointment, which also hasn't happened in a long time. (Do you see the thread here? Hmm...) (I have, however, had my mammogram regularly...)

I feel like I'm becoming a regular, whole person again...

I got my print books for Redemption: Sector One! They are so beautiful and I am so happy! I have my first book signing with them on Saturday! I'm so excited! And then, the next event is the annual greenhouse thing next month, which I am also excited for.

And... the writing is going spectacular! I have written every single day since last Friday, and not just a few words either. I made a pretty lofty monthly goal, and I am overachieving that so far! The story is going well and falling into place. In fact, I finished my words about a half-hour ago, which gives me time to goof off on the Internet. As I increase my stamina to normal proportions, I will be writing more and more words each night and still have goof off time. Oh! And I need a good chair for my office, so... I need to put that on my list!

The crap going on with the national writing organization is so epically ridiculous that it's like riding a crazy train through a ten-ring circus, or maybe worse than that... Today was especially crazy. It's like watching a superbad and cringey tv show that never has any kind of redemption or understanding. And I am not kidding at all.

Other than that... It's Wednesday...

And that is all...

Behave!

Friday, January 03, 2020

First Feel Good Friday of 2020...

It's 2020...

First Friday of 2020...

Let's get to the list.

1. New Year's was good. Lord of the Rings all day. Perfect. I was in bed early and up early the next day.

2. Back up... New Year's Eve was also good. We stopped downtown to see Funeral Bob's new gathering place. Hung out and talked to him and a bunch of people. Went to the grocery store (horrible mistake). Went for food. Visited friends. Visited more friends. Stayed up too late.

3. Back to work on Thursday. It was a long gruesome day of boredom. Seriously. I kept thinking it was Monday, which sucked.

4. Today was inventory day at work. We all made side dishes for the subs work ordered. I had to run checks this morning, but as soon as I was done, I went and helped count. Then lunch. Then entered as much inventory as I could before the end of the day. I was busy, and it was good. We left almost a half-hour late because That Man and I were both caught up in what we were doing and it was hard to tear away. But it will be there on Monday.

5. Chilling tonight. We brought leftovers home from today, so no cooking. I caught up on emails, paid the bills, and talked to my aunt.

6. Tomorrow's Writing Group meeting. Looking forward to it. There's a crapstorm going on with our national organization right now. We have only questions and no decent answers and everyone is ticked off and confused. It should be an interesting meeting.

7. After that... there is hope for lunch with some non-writing friends...

8. Taking the tree down either tomorrow night or Sunday. It's time for it to go. I also need to run the vacuum and clean this pigsty. It's not horrible, but it's not great either.

9. Writing goals... Getting back into the game. I fell short of my goals, but not that short, so I am still on the right track...

That's all I have... January is supposed to be a quiet month, but we're finding every weekend is full... Crazy.

Behave!

Tuesday, December 31, 2019

Happy New Year!!

Have a wonderful New Year's Eve!!

Be safe. Don't drink and drive!

I hope you make 2020 your b*tch and all of the good things happen for you!

Behave!


Saturday, December 28, 2019

It's Almost Over...

The Holidays, I mean...

We just have New Year's to get through... Oy... I have no idea what we're doing about that yet... We have several invitations, but we may just end up on Main Street in our little town for a few minutes. Don't know yet.

We had a pretty darned nice Christmas! Christmas Eve was good! Good soup. Good company. Great niece holding! Grandsons! Siblings! Friends! (lots of !!!!!) We did our first White Elephant gift exchange and I think it went pretty well! We'll definitely do it again next year.

Folks went home. We cleaned up. Re-set for Christmas Day!

I was the last one up in the morning, which is surprising! Usually I am the one that is making coffee, turning on the lights, and taking the dog out. That Man had coffee ready and K4 was already through her cup by the time I came down! She was happy with her presents. We broke up the chaos a few times like we always do, but this year, we waited on breakfast until K3 and A got here.

Got breakfast done. Mimosas. Presents. Made the stuffed shells for the birthday dinner. Travelled to see K1 and J and the boys. Split up from there. K3 and A went to see A's gma. We stopped at That Man's second job for keys. I stayed in the car and I shouldn't have. The boss wife came out to see me, but she just had neck surgery. I felt bad for being a slump and staying in the car. They gave me a glass of wine and we journeyed home.

A quick nap. And shells. And Birthday stuff. K3 and A came back for the naps and stuff.

It was a good day. We were in bed way late, but it was okay.

Off Thursday and Friday! Beautiful! A little sleeping in on Thursday. We went to the mega hardware store for supplies to get K4 back into the attic. A little change in walls, etc, and she's got her little apartment up there. She's ecstatic and we just have a little more work to do before we can move her stuff up there.

Of course, she has no bathroom or kitchen, but the space will still be amazing! The renovations we did last summer ( summer before last?) are still amazing. The floors are beautiful.

Today, I actually changed out of my jammies and took a shower! Ha! (I did put real pants on to go to the mega hardware store!) I went to the grocery store and caught up on the fiasco that is my national writing chapter at the moment. I am not sure if I am cancelling my membership at this point or not... It's all a bunch of bullcrap...

And that's all I have... Tomorrow is Sunday... Our last day off. We work all day Monday and a partial day Tuesday. Off Wednesday and then back to work on Thursday. Though I will say it's exciting to start the year off with all of my vacation time in place! Whoot!

That is all... I'm off to edit now...

Behave!


Tuesday, December 24, 2019

Christmas Eve...

Very Merry to you and yours!!



That is all...

Behave!

Friday, December 20, 2019

Feel Good Friday - The 5 Days Until Christmas Version

Crazy Countdown!

Here's the list:

1. Work week done! Whoot! Only a day and a half to work before a very long weekend!

2. Leaving early today to have a nice dinner with That Man! We worked through lunch so we could leave an hour early. It's our 33rd Anniversary today! We went to a steakhouse we had a gift card for. The service was pretty awful, but the food was good. We're still stuffed and we ate dinner like 3 hours ago! Ha! I can't believe it's been 33 years. And we still like each other - a lot! Ha!

3. Stopping to get a few last minute things. We're not "quite" finished, but my confidence is high. Gift-wise, we're just waiting for the delivery guy. We have a massive grocery store run to take care of in the morning.

4. Getting two of the grands for our annual shopping trip tomorrow. We started this tradition with K5, and now it's grown to include Mr. B. I'm sure it will grow further as we go. We'll pick them up and head to the store so they can shop for each other and their parents. Then, back here for wrapping, crafts, dinner, and their gift exchange. We're doing a sleepover this year, which is usually interesting, and then we'll have "Christmas Breakfast" Sunday morning. We're looking forward to it, even though we have a million things to do before time to pick them up.

5. Dinner out with the writing gang this week. That was fun. It was a small crowd, which just means more personal and deeper conversations.

6. A Christmas Celebration with friends the next night. That was really good, too. Lots of food, laughter, and silliness. It crazy snowed though and they live on a hill on top of another hill in the middle of nowhere.

7. Getting most of the wrapping done last night. We ran out of paper, so I'm glad we made the effort to get done early. Got some paper tonight, so we'll get the last few things done here in a bit. Then I need to clean the office so we can wrap with the kids tomorrow.

8. My lists! I don't think I could survive without them! I have a very hug shopping list, and a list of things to do that shrinks and grows at the same time.

9. Sleeping in a little tomorrow. Just a little, but it will be good.

10. The kitties still leaving the tree alone. Except for the tree skirt. It has turned into a superhero cape, and slidey toy, and the object of fights. I put it back and they just take it away again. To be clear, we're not putting any presents under the tree until Christmas Eve - just in case. For one, the dog will open them. She absolutely loves to open presents, so there's that. We've come home to wrapping paper and open stuff a few times over the years, and I'm not going there again. I also don't trust that the kittens won't do the same, plus they are all over the boxes in my office. Twice last night I had to do repair work on wrapping because they walked over or attacked something. Ha!

And that's all I have to say...

The wrapping, writing, and my lists are calling to me!

Behave!

Monday, December 16, 2019

Seven Days...

It's the final countdown.... (cue Sponge Bob... lol)

We're almost there. Did the inventory and are pretty good except for a few final things. We couldn't go crazy this year, we've got some big expenses coming up - like a major tree trimming and the cost is so outrageous I'm still having trouble wrapping my head around it. But it must be done. Whatever. It's not about the presents at all, and it would do me good to remember that!

Here's our tree!

It's not as fat or tall as I normally go for, but it's beautiful and it smells amazing!

So far, the kittens have left it pretty much alone. The tree skirt is all bunched around the back, but that's normal. We had that when it was just Spenser. *Knock on wood* Not one cat has gotten into the tree at this point. We shall see though. It's early...

This time next week, I should be making K4's birthday cake and working on her stuff shells for dinner. We're having an Italian feast this year for her 20th birthday! And the ultimate goal is not work a lot on Christmas! I will do as much as possible before so I don't have much to do on the day.

The really nice thing is That Man and I are off the days after Christmas. Which is awesome! Sleeping in! Whoot! We'll need it after this week and next!

But first we need to get through this work week...It's an easy week for the most part.

That is all.

Behave!


Friday, December 13, 2019

Feel Good Friday!

Here's the list:

1. Seeing our grandbabies on Sunday! They are so stinking cute and they loved the ball pit/fortress we got them. We're not sure mom and dad loved it, but... Ha! Grandparent prerogative! We had dinner and cupcakes for Baby A's birthday, lots of good conversation, and lots of sticky kisses, hugs, demands on where pappy and nanna have to sit, and instructions for head bands.

2. Getting the Christmas shopping almost done. Though... we did think we got Mr. B something super cool and when it came... it was super small and stupid, so... yeah, not there yet. I would say we're about 90% done.

3. Today's work Christmas Party. It was good. We ate well (the food was amazing), and talked to people. We got to leave when it was over (about 2.5 hours before the end of the normal work day), which was cool.

4. Talking to my kid for over an hour tonight! He is so funny and awesome! We talked about future plans, current plans, and the fog outside right now. It was a fantastic conversation.

5. Our tree is up, but not decorated. It's currently drying while it drops. Next, we will tie it to the wall to prevent the kitty babies from destroying it. Tomorrow is decorating. I hope! We will see what it looks like in the morning. Ha!

6. My cover for Into the Fire being in the top ten in the cover contest! Less than 24 hours left in the voting until the next round! It's been fun!

7. Shopping on our way home tonight. We hit the mega store for the stuff we ordered for pick up and got some other stuff, too. That pick up thing is the way to go though! In and out in less than five minutes! Whooo! Then the grocery store with the rest of the crazy people.

8. Sleeping in tomorrow! Whoo!

9. Writing well this week! It's going pretty good! I'm editing what I have so far and I'm almost done! We just came off of our 50/50 challenge, which is pretty much writing every day, even if it's crap. So I'm cleaning up the crappy bits so I can proceed.

10. Weekend plans! Not sure exactly what they are yet. The plans have changed at least five times since this morning, but whatever we do, it will be good!

That is all!

Behave!